News Feed

Jun 10, 2019

Congratulations to Collin Doyle whose play "Let the Light of Day Through" won the Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama at the Alberta Literary Awards!

"Let the Light of Day Through" is one of the three works in Doyle's collection...

May 24, 2019

Congratulations to A.J. Devlin for taking home the Arthur Ellis Award for Best First Crime Novel for his debut book Cobra Clutch! The award is sponsored by Rakuten Kobo....

May 16, 2019

To celebrate the 50th title in our Nunatak First Fiction Series, we are putting our backlist Nunataks on sale! 20% off until the end of June!

The Nunatak First Fiction Series is the longest running debut-fiction...

Apr 3, 2019

We are proud to announce that Collin Doyle's play "Let the Light of Day Through," which can be found in his collection The Mighty Carlins and Other Plays, is up for the Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama!

Congratulations to all the nominees, and thanks to the organizers and...

Apr 3, 2019

We are proud to congratulate David Martin for his collection Tar Swan being long listed for the 2019 Raymond Souster Award organized by the League of Canadian Poets!

The winner for this category as well as the Gerald Lampert Memorial and the Pat Lowther Memorial Award will be...

Mar 19, 2019

Congrats to Kayla Geitzler! Her debut collection THAT LIGHT FEELING UNDER YOUR FEET is a finalist for The Fiddlehead Poetry Book Prize at the New Brunswick Book Awards! Congrats to the nominees and thanks to Evelyn Lau and the award organizers!

Dec 20, 2018

We at NeWest Press with everyone a pleasant, fun, relaxing, and book-filled holiday season!

Just a reminder that we will be closed from December 21st until January 3rd.

See you all in the New Year!

Sep 17, 2018

Last Friday night at the Alberta Book Publishing Awards in Calgary was an exciting one! We took home two design awards:

Jul 3, 2018

The Book Publishers Association of Alberta has announced the shortlist for the 2018 Alberta Book Publishing Awards! Six of NeWest Press's books have been shortlisted in five categories. The winners will be announced at a gala dinner in Calgary on September 14th, 2018. 

Nominated for Book...

Jun 14, 2018

Congratulations to Taylor Lambert for winning The City of Calgary W.O. Mitchell Book Prize for Darwin's Moving!

Click to see a lovely video of...