$19.95 CAD

Blind Spot

Laurence Miall 978-1-927063-65-1 | 232 Pages September, 2014 Ebook, Fiction, Nunatak First Fiction Series

Also available as an ebook from

About this book

Edmonton Journal #1 Bestseller!

“Some days I wish something truly bad would happen so that I would have something genuine to worry about.”

When his parents’ car is hit by a train, Luke, a failed actor, returns to his Edmonton hometown to attend their funeral, wrap up their affairs, and prepare their house to be sold off. But while all others around him grieve, Luke remains detached, striking up a relationship with a woman in a neighbouring house... and stumbling across evidence that his mother may have engaged in a longstanding extramarital affair herself.

In Blind Spot, debut novelist Laurence Miall crafts an unforgettable literary antihero, a man disconnected from the pain of those around him, yet blind to his own faults. With his clean, forceful language and his familiarity with the darker corners of the male psyche, Miall emerges as a gripping storyteller in the tradition of Tobias Wolff and Andre Dubus III.

Interview with Vue Weekly

Part One of "Lifespan of a Novel" at the Edmonton Journal - interview with Laurence Miall

Part Two of "Lifespan of a Novel" at the Edmonton Journal - interview with Douglas Barbour and Jenna Butler

Part Three of "Lifespan of a Novel" at the Edmonton Journal - interview with Michel Vrana

Part Four of "Lifespan of a Novel" at the Edmonton Journal - interview with Paul Matwychuk and Matt Bowes

Reviews

“‘I had no more business with the past,’ says Luke, the narrator of Blind Spot. Of course he does. His business, in Laurence Miall’s hands, is gritty and pretty, mournful and light, and all-around unforgettable.”

~ Todd Babiak, author of Come Barbarians

“A tale told with ferocious honesty. A sharply-polished gem, glittering with lights both lovely and cruel.”

~ Thomas Wharton, author of Icefields and Salamander

"It seems incongruous: an enjoyable book with a protagonist you’d love to punch about the neck and face." full review

~ Another Book Blog

"Writing a novel based in Canada without making it blatantly Canadian is a tough task. The key it seems, as seen in Laurence Miall’s Blind Spot, is just to tell a good story that happens to take place in the Great White North." full review

~ Trent Wilkie, Edmonton Examiner

"It made me realize how unconventional this story really is. It’s easy to sympathise with an anti-hero you think you can fix. Luke seems beyond help, somehow." full review

~ Reading in Bed

"Blind Spot is the memorable story of a minor failure, made all the more powerful by its honesty and restraint." full review

~ Alex Good, Quill and Quire

"Miall's character development is dead on and the author achieves this with his remarkable skill at dialogue."

~ Naomi K. Lewis, Alberta Views

"His story can hold its own in any locale, and his ability to hold one's attention is what will elevate his reputation as one of Edmonton's most sought-after writers, in the company of the likes of Todd Babiak and Lynn Coady." full review

~ Emil Tiedemann, I Heart Edmonton

"a breath of fresh air..." full review

~ Ian McGillis, Montreal Gazette

"I like the way Miall writes." full review

~ Alexis Kienlen, Grande Prairie Herald-Tribune

"Overall, Blind Spot successfully exposes the mind of a warped individual and challenges his readers to understand his beautifully terrible anti-hero. All of this takes place against the familiar backdrop of our home, Edmonton." full review

~ Cassandra Boschmann, The Wanderer Online